Prince of Wales, Niagara on the Lake, Ontario
The corner stone carved with the date 1864 can still been seen today. It was also named The Arcade Hotel, The Niagara House, and finally in 1901, The Prince of Wales Hotel. This name was chosen in honour of the 1901 visit of the Duke and Duchess of York, who were later crowned King George V and Queen Mary.
The original Hotel was built on the corner of Picton and King Street. It was built of polychrome brick (having a basic red brick fabric with cream-coloured highlights). Its architectural style was that of the Second French Empire, seen most clearly in its mansard roof.
Today it’s in the heart of busy theatre town with its renowned Shaw Festival and surrounded by wine country. The Niagara River Parkway stretches out from Niagara-on-the-Lake to Fort Erie in the south. For 55 kilometres the Niagara Parkway hugs the Niagara River, offering unsurpassed views of the Niagara River and Niagara Falls. It’s a spectacular bike route and the gardens are world -renowned.
Executive Chef Chris Smythe oversees all the culinary offerings which, particularly in the summer, showcases the region’s incredible diversity.
Contact The Prince of Wales Hotel at the number below to reserve a Food Day Canada table.
Contactez The Prince of Wales Hotel directement, au numéro ci-dessous, afin de faire votre Journée des terroirs réservation
6 Picton Street, Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON L0S 1J0